SEO and PPC search ads
SEO and PPC Search Ads Best Practices | Respiro
Search engine optimization and related PPC ads are one of the most important part of marketing at Famme.
In this onboarding document we will go through the following for SEO:
- The most important SEO resources to learn from
- The motivation behind improving SEO
- Keyword research and how to improve ranking
- How to write “blog posts for SEO”
- Redirects best practices
- Coverage report in GSC
- Naming conventions
- Multi country and language SEO - Translations and domains
- Video SEO
- Deduplication and consolidation of content
- Click through rates - Meta title and description improvements
- Structured data
- Page experience and UX - effect on rankings
PPC
- How much is traffic worth?
- How does PPC work?
- Margins
- Bid types
- Brandjacking
- Negative keywords
SEO resources
Docs
Every other blog post on the internet is rephrasing the Google docs, familiarize yourself with Google’s own docs:
Since we use Shopify as our E-commerce platform, knowing how SEO works for the Shopify platform is important.
Blogs
The official documentation is important, but some blogs are also worth reading. For blogs:
Software you will use
If you work on the Norwegian page, you will get access to:
After access is given you have to “confirm ownership”. If you work on the danish site the url above has to replace famme.no with fammestore.dk.
- Google ads: ads.google.com
- Semrush: Semrush.com
- Google analytics: http://analytics.google.com/
- Shopify analytics
SEO motivation - Why increase organic traffic?
We want to increase the relevant organic traffic to Famme’s site. Example of relevant traffic:
Women searching for leggings
Women searching for crop tops Example of non-relevant traffic:
Men/Women searching for iphone 12
Men/Women searching for how to ski The last could become relevant if we started selling ski equipment / ski clothing, since people learning to ski are more likely to buy clothes for skiing.
We want to increase the amount of impressions and clicks from relevant people.
As of this writing, you can see that the amount of impressions has increased from July to August. This can be attributed to two factors:
- We got a new theme that was much faster. Google likes faster sites
- We wrote more in depth and keyword-focused product and collection descriptions
- We started writing blog posts
- We linked internally strategically between pages. So let’s start getting more relevant impressions, and thus clicks.
Keyword research
What do we sell? Clothing. What do we have most of? Leggings. What are people searching for related to leggings? Google keywordplanner has the answer:
We have done some keyword research and saved the search terms with the highest search volume to a keyword plan.
People are also searching for “Nike tights” and “Gymshark tights”, but those are not relevant for us. In general we will only be interested in non-branded searches. But for Google ads it might be relevant to target customer’s searching for competitors. It might also be relevant to make comparison articles to “steal” branded traffic.
So we have the keywords. Now we need to have content on our site to tell Google we are relevant for that keyword.
Note that one can also talk about targeting search intent. If people look for “svart tights”, “svart treningstights”, “sort tights”. The person is looking for the same thing. We do not need to make separate content for all those search terms.
Ranking one page for one of these terms should rank nr 1 on every term ideally. At the moment we rank nr 1 for:
“scrunch tights” “scrunch tights norge” Which both has the same search intent for people living in Norway.
Let’s take a look at the first page for the most searched for term:
Every page ranking on the first page is a collection page, except “test blog”. That makes sense. If I look for training leggings I probably want to see many leggings to find one relevant for me. If I searched for something more specific like a training leggings with scrunch and pockets in color red, then it would make sense to show me a specific product page. But for a generic product category you have less chance of ranking a single product, simply because it is less relevant.
To find out what page Google thinks is most relevant for a search term for a given site, we use the site: filter.
treningstights site:famme.no
Google also thinks that the “tights” and “treningstights” collection pages is most relevant for the search term, which is consistent with the result on the first page.
Our goal is to rank nr 1 on this search term and related terms, but let’s start by finding the current ranking using Google search console:
https://search.google.com/search-console/performance/search-analytics?resource_id=sc-domain%3Afamme.no&query=*treningstights
If we use some regex to filter out those queries that are interesting, we can see something interesting:
Before we did consistent work on the content on our website, we did not even have impressions for a search term critical to our business.
That should be an eye opener for the importance of search engine optimization.
“|” means or and ^ means starts with, $ means endswith. https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/7576553#regex_filter ^treningstights$|treningstights dame
To improve ranking, the following should be done:
- Find out what kind of page ranks for the search term. In this case it is a collection page
- Improve the collection page, does it have a relevant description, image and alt text on image
- For the collection page, are the products in it relevant, does the product have the keyword in the product description?
- Do we link the collection page “close” to the home page, it should be 1 click from the home page if the page is relevant
- Do we have other content, like blog posts, on the site relevant to the search term. If we do not have it, make it. A website that has written in depth about a topic should have more authority than a website with only a collection page.
- Link internally between relevant pages. The collection description can link to the blog posts for instance and the blog post can link to the collection page If relevant, link from other blog posts to the new blog posts.
- After going through all those steps for a search intent, the page is much more likely to rank after some time.
Blog posts for SEO
Why write blogs? The reason Famme writes blog posts, is to drive relevant traffic to the website.
We earn money by selling clothes to women, thus if we get a lot of men looking for beard accessories on our website, even if we had one million of them, we would probably not earn much more. It is better to get 100 women interested in sportswear, than 1 million irrelevant men on our website.
Having this in mind, every blog posts should try to maximize relevant traffic to our website.
Relevant traffic for Famme is, in prioritized order:
- Women who are ready to buy clothing that we offer
- Women who might buy in the future. That is almost all women
- Driving traffic for women looking for leggings, is more important than women looking for bags or dresses, as we do not have that in our inventory.
Example of blog article types:
- What is X?
- 10 best X
- X: 10 models tested
- How to do X?
Searchers intent - Informational Vs. Transactional queries
(source: https://yoast.com/search-intent/) Search intent (or user intent, audience intent) is the term used to describe the purpose of an online search. It’s the reason why someone conducts a specific search. Writing good blog posts for SEO is a challenge in psychology. Which person is most ready to buy leggings, a person searching for:
- Leggings
- Maternity leggings
- Best leggings for workout
- Leggings winter
- How to wash leggings
- Famme leggings It is not easy to answer that question, but a person looking for how to wash leggings probably has leggings, and are not in the immediate need to buy. But answering the question for the person might create a lead that might purchase in the future, thus it is relevant to have a blog article about it.
When choosing what to write about, we have to take into account:
- Search volume for a specific phrase/word
- Searchers intent If the searchers intent is something we can answer and implies relevant traffic, and the search has high volume, then we can potentially have high relevant traffic to our website by best answering the searcher’s intent
Blog Structure
Google analyzes the html on the page, as with everything in life, if it is structured in a consistent and logical way, it is easier to find and understand. Google needs to understand what the text is about, and thus certain structures will be better than others.
Most principles learned in school about structuring text applies to blog posts as well. For instance to split the text in paragraphs with meaningful titles.
All articles should be structured into logical paragraphs and all or most of these elements:
Links, to external sites is also good if relevant to the article. But always to internal pages.
lists
If the artice is long, linking to relevant parts in the content table
Bold important words
Images and a big plus with videoes as well To rank higher than others you need to:
Writing higher-quality content than other pages currently ranking
Optimizing that content to be more relevant to the keyword we want to rank for
Use internal links
Identifying things they didn’t cover that they should have
Identifying room for improvement in terms of angle. Should they have provided more detail, or maybe less detail in a particular section?
Header tags
If we write about maternity leggings, having “maternity leggings” as the most prominent h1 header makes sense.
“Subcategories” should have h2,h3 headers etc.
External and internal linking
If you write about a topic, and link to other pages on your site with relevant keywords, that implies that your site in general is relevant for this keyword, as you have other pages on your site about the topic.
It is important that you add an alt text relevant to searcher’s intent on the keyword.
Here we have linked to a product, adding an alt text “leggings for maternity” is more telling to Google than if the link text had just included the name of the product.
If relevant for answering the searcher’s needs, link to reputable sources.
How NOT to link to a page
When linking internally, always link to pages that are indexed, that excludes search pages that are not indexed.
For example, earlier https://famme.no/search?type=product&q=scrunch was used to link to a page on our website from a scrunch blog article. The best thing to do here would have been to link to: https://famme.no/collections/scrunch
Which is a page we want to rank on Google, and we need to tell Google: “We think this page is important, therefore we link to it.”
If you go to: https://famme.no/robots.txt
One can see that: Disallow: /search
That means that search queries are not indexed on Google. Doing internal links to search is thus not good.
Relative linking Vs. absolute linking - multi language SEO
We have to “Shopify backends” for Famme. One is for our Norwegian customers, where we ship from Norway, the other is for all other customers:
You can see we have four domains:
fammesportswear.com
famme.se
fammestore.dk
famme.fi Using our Scrunch leggings article as an example:
https://fammesportswear.com/blogs/news/what-is-scrunch-leggings -> english
https://fammestore.dk/blogs/news/what-is-scrunch-leggings -> Danish
https://famme.se/blogs/news/what-is-scrunch-leggings -> Swedish Note that since we have not translated the blog article as of this writing, the fammestore.dk blog will still be in english, as that is the default when no translation is available.
Let’s say you want to internally link to a product. There are two approaches:
Relative link If you browse the blog from fammesportswear.com, clikcing the link takes you to fammesportswear.com/products/scrunch-tights.
If you browse from fammestore.dk, the link takes you to fammestore.dk/products/scrunch-tights.
Absolute link A normal SEO mistake is to use an absolute link. This will force users on fammestore.dk and famme.se onto the english fammesportswear.com when following the link. That is bad for user experience and might confuse customers.
To summarize: Always use relative linking on a multi-language domain
Include images and videos
A picture says a thousand words, and Google knows that images help people learn and that it probably makes the article more useful for the reader.
Try to add at least one image that helps the user, ideally “answering” their search somehow. If the person is looking for specific products, as will often be the case for Famme, adding product images and linking to them will often be useful.
Remember to add image alt/link text that does not simply regurgitate the product name, but explains what you are linking to. Examples:
Sport bra with high X squatproof leggings (instead of essential leggings) t-shirt with stink protection (instead of texture t-shirt, just an example)
File names
When uploading files to a CMS, content management system, be very careful with the filename. Google explicitely writes in the documentation that filenames are used as “signals” / hints as to what the content is about. So it does not matter if you use Wordpress, Shopify or another CMS, for all pages, theme, blogs, always rename the file to describe what it is about.
For product photos it is often sufficient with the product name. For an image used as a cover for an article about the best running leggings, best-running-leggings.jpg is more relevant than screenshot-2021.jpg.
In Shopify when you upload a file to use in the theme editor, blog posts or pages you find the files here:
https://famme-international.myshopify.com/admin/settings/files
We have a lot of badly named files, everything from non-renamed screenshots to just stupid names like “test.jpg” that has stuck as it was not renamed after testing.
Always use hyphen as seperator between words. Never underscore.
Redirects best practices
Eliminate 404 with relevant 301 As of this writing https://famme.no/products/bordeaux-elevate-vortex-leggings leads to a page:
Siden finnes ikke (Page does not exist) Having a lot of 404s are obviously not a good quality sign of your website. Some 404 should exist, it is not necessary to eliminate all, that is an SEO anti-pattern you should read more about here.
The goal is to redirect to other pages that is relevant. For the leggings above, we actually do still have it, but the url has changed.
In Shopify it is easy to create a URL redirect, look at this help page.
/products/bordeaux-elevate-vortex-leggings -> /products/seamless-elevate-vortex-tights The next time Google crawls this URL it no longer returns 404, but redirects to the relevant product.
Google console coverage report
Go to https://search.google.com/search-console. Find Coverage in the left menu under Index Filter on Excluded There are now a lot of different subcategories of excluded explained here from Google More has to be written about this… How should we use this in famme?. 404 report etc. is probably most relevant to look at. Not indexed pages for finding bad content.
Naming conventions
Product text Keep product text short Detailed information should be in blog posts. For example linking to the “what is seamless” article when “seamless” is used as keyword Have at least one bullet list with USP / important information Use bold on certain text to make it easier to read. It should be easier to extract all necessary information from the bolded keywords
Collection guidelines
Only use automatic collections, these are collections where products are dynamically added or removed based on rules.
For instance a collection could be all products with “Leggings” in title. If you add a new product with that substring in the name, it will automatically be added to the collection.
File naming guidelines
- Only use lowercase letters in file names
- Only use hyphens to separate words
Images
Images should be named like this:
Image in articles
Either in text or featured image: ARTICLE_NAME-TEXT_DESCRIBING_PICTURE
For example beste-treningstights-scrunch-tights.jpg for an article about best training leggings 2021 where scrunch tights is depicted.
Product images
Product images should be named the same as the product title with hyphens.
Collection images
collection.jpg with hyphens between words is good enough
Website
{location}-{image type}-{something describing image}
for example homepage-banner-4flex-jeans.jpg, homepage-banner-scrunch-leggings.jpg etc.
For other banners for landing pages: {landing page name}-{something describing the image}
4flex-landingpage-stretchy-jeans.jpg, for a picture showcasing the stretch of the jeans.
Multi domain and language SEO
Translations on the Shopify platform To rank on Google in more countries and create a better customer experience, translating store content is crucial.
There are two “places” to put translations:
- On a CCTLD = Country code top level domain
- On a path, by putting a path country prefix after the domain name
CCTLD - country domains
Famme has several CCTLDs:
- famme.no
- famme.se
- famme.fi
- fammestore.dk
- fammesportswear.com Each domain should have its own translation. The language should be Swedish on famme.se, danish on fammestore.dk etc.
Country path
For countries where we do not have a CCLTD, we can have translations on another path.
/de for German
/fr for French
/es for Spanish What would be the url for Vortex leggings for different language versions:
https://famme.se/de/products/vortex-leggings-2 Note that the path, often called the “handle” in Shopify documentation, is the same, only the domain or path prefix is different.
The path might be different for famme.no, but that is because that store is on another Shopify store / Shopify backend. That means the Norwegian store is not translated, it has only one language version, Norwegian.
Our two backends:
Norwegian store (yes, name makes no sense): https://famme-international.myshopify.com International store: https://famme-eur.myshopify.com
Domain setup shopify
Translations
Translations are stored in several places. But most are stored in the locales folder in the theme files.
The naming convention is LANG.json, so da.json contains the translations for Danish language.
Most theme text is stored in the locales folder in .json files. But you will not find product descriptions email templates and many other texts in the locales folder. Shopify stores translations of resources like:
- Product
- Collection
- Navigation
The full list of resources.
There is no native GUI as of this writing for translations. But several apps have a user interface for storing and retrieving translations from Shopify, we use the app “translate my store”.
Translation app functionality
Manual translation
You can manually translate each resource type, for example collection titles.
Automated translation
Be careful with automated translation, it should only be used for certain resouce types. For example “Vortex leggings” should not be translated to “virvel tights”, but “Vortex tights” should be fine.
Translation results are OK for product and collection descriptions , but probably quite a few bad translations. Should be easy to spot for Danish and Swedish if it sounds stupid
Resource types to auto-translate:
- Navigation. Often works with a few mistakes
- Product descriptions
- Collection title and descriptions. NOT meta descriptions and meta titles, so do not translate everything under the collection resource type. “advanced filter” must be used in the app.
- Online store theme
- Article, Blog and page can be risky. Important pages like return and exchanges should probably be verified with a native speaker.
Video SEO - Shopify or YouTube hosted videos
There are two ways to upload videos to Shopify:
Hosted on Shopify
When uploading to Shopify there is a limit of 60 seconds, so either speed up the video, while preserving or removing pitch, or clip unnecessary parts out.
Hosted on YouTube
This is what we should always use in Famme since Google ranks YT hosted videos higher. Hosting on YouTube should be fine. In the YouTube description include a link to the product. The video can be unlisted, so it does not show up in search results if we want to hide it.
Pros of YouTube hosting:
- Better ranking in Google search
- No storage limits
- Better video quality options
- Analytics available
Cons of Shopify hosting:
- 60-second limit
- Uses store bandwidth
- Limited quality options
- No built-in analytics
Deduplication and Consolidation of Content
We don’t just want relevant content—we want to eliminate irrelevant content. It’s harder to find what you’re looking for when there’s too much “noise” on a site.
For example, if we’re trying to rank for sportswear but write about soap operas, both Google and visitors will be confused about our page’s purpose.
Our goal is to make it crystal clear to search engines what each page is about.
Controlling Crawl Budget
Search engines allocate a limited “crawl budget” to each site. This means they’ll only crawl a certain number of pages on your site during each visit. To make the most of this:
- Exclude non-essential pages from indexing
- Consolidate similar content to reduce redundancy
- Remove or update outdated content that no longer serves a purpose
Avoid Duplicate Content
What can we do to decrease irrelevance:
- Avoid duplicate content
- Use robots.txt to avoid crawling of duplicate or unimportant resources. See Famme’s robots.txt at famme.no/robots.txt
- No-index non-important pages that do not need to be available on SERP
- Consolidate articles
- Remove unnecessary information No-index non-important pages that do not need to be available on SERP Consolidate articles Remove unnecessary information
Practical Examples
1. Product Descriptions
- Never copy descriptions between similar products
- Highlight unique features and benefits
- Use different angles or selling points for similar items
2. Collection Pages
- Each collection should have unique, descriptive text
- If collections are too similar, consider merging them
- Focus on different aspects for similar collections
3. Blog Content
- Avoid covering the same topic multiple times
- Instead of duplicating, link to your existing content
- Update and expand existing posts rather than creating similar new ones
Understanding robots.txt
Your robots.txt
file controls search engine crawling behavior:
# Example robots.txt
User-agent: *
Disallow: /cart
Disallow: /search
Disallow: /account
Key points:
- Blocks search engines from indexing non-essential pages
- Prevents wasting crawl budget on unimportant URLs
- Example:
famme.no/robots.txt
Content Consolidation Strategy
When to Consolidate
- Multiple pages targeting the same keywords
- Similar content spread across multiple URLs
- Low-performing pages with overlapping topics
Action Plan
- Audit your content for duplication
- Merge similar pages where appropriate
- Redirect consolidated pages properly
- Update internal links to point to the consolidated content
Product and Collection Pages
Product Pages
- Each product should have unique descriptions
- Highlight different features for similar products
- Consider consolidating color/size variants under one URL
Collection Pages
- Ensure each collection has a distinct theme
- Avoid overlapping product groupings
- Use unique, descriptive text for each collection
Removing Non-Ranking and Consolidating Articles
This requires some thought and research.
What pages are too similar? Are some pages answering the same search intent? If yes, can they be merged or rewritten? When is it time to remove a page?
Using Search Console for Content Analysis
Identifying Underperforming Pages
To maintain a healthy website, identify and address pages that aren’t performing well. Analyze different page types in Google Search Console (3-6 month period recommended):
page contains 'products'
page contains 'collection'
page contains 'blog'
page contains 'page'
Exclude branded searches: does not contain famme|femme|fanme
Our top-performing article for non-branded searches is currently about maternity leggings.
For blogs with low impressions (after 1+ month):
- Delete - If content is irrelevant or outdated
- Merge - With related, stronger content
- Improve - Update with better information and keywords
Note: Always evaluate if the content answers a user’s question before making changes. New articles may need time to gain traction.
Handling URL Changes
Important: Check for URL changes that might affect performance metrics. A blog article’s performance might appear worse than it actually is if you’re looking at an old URL structure.
Product & Collection Page Optimization
For product and collection pages, focus on improvement rather than deletion:
- Enhance product descriptions with relevant keywords
- Improve internal linking from blog articles
- Check for missing high-volume keywords in descriptions
- Ensure products are linked from relevant blog content
Identifying Non-Indexed Pages
- Go to Google Search Console
- Navigate to Coverage Report
- Select “Excluded”
- Look for “Crawled - not currently indexed” URLs
These pages might need attention if they remain unindexed for an extended period.
Improving Click-Through Rates (CTR)
Why CTR Matters
Pages on the first page can still underperform if they don’t attract enough clicks. CTR is directly tied to your search result position.
Key Areas for Improvement
Boost Search Rankings
- Aim for top 3 positions
- Existing rankings show Google sees value
- Higher positions = More visibility = More clicks
Enhance Snippet Appearance
- Titles: Clear, benefit-focused, include keywords
- Descriptions: Compelling value proposition with CTAs
CTR Optimization Tactics
For Comparison Queries:
- Include comparison terms (“vs”, “compared to”)
- Highlight competitive advantages
- Use terms like “best for [use case]”
For Purchase Queries:
- Showcase key benefits (free shipping, easy returns)
- Include trust indicators (ratings, inventory status)
- Add urgency when relevant (limited stock, sale ending)
Understanding Traffic Value
The Economics of Website Traffic
In digital marketing, understanding the monetary value of each visitor is crucial for making informed decisions about advertising spend and content strategy.
Key Factors in Calculating Visitor Value
- Average Order Value (AOV): 600 NOK (including shipping)
- Conversion Rate: 3.5%
- Cost of Goods Sold (COGS): 200 NOK (including shipping and product costs)
- VAT Rate: 25% (excluded by multiplying by 0.8)
Calculating Visitor Value
Visitor Value = (AOV × VAT_Adjustment - COGS) × Conversion_Rate
= (600 × 0.8 - 200) × 0.035
= (480 - 200) × 0.035
= 280 × 0.035
= 9.8 NOK
Key Takeaways
- Break-even CPA: 9.8 NOK per visitor
- Scaling Potential:
- Double conversion rate → Double your CPA target
- Increase profit margins → Increase CPA target proportionally
- Combine both for exponential growth
Practical Implications
- Budget Allocation: Use this calculation to determine your maximum cost per acquisition (CPA) for paid campaigns.
- ROI Focus: Concentrate on the most significant cost factors that impact your bottom line.
- Testing Ground: Experiment with different conversion rates to model various business scenarios.
Pro Tip: Regularly update these calculations as your costs, conversion rates, or average order values change.
Google Ads Strategy
Understanding Ad Spend Economics
Google Ads operates on a pay-per-click (PPC) model, making it essential to understand the value of each visitor to your site.
Google Ads Overview
1. Search Ads
- Appear above organic search results
- Text-based advertisements
- Triggered by specific search queries
2. Shopping Ads
- Appear above search ads for product-related queries
- Include product image, price, and store name
- Require a product feed
Determining Maximum CPC
To calculate your maximum cost-per-click (CPC), consider these key factors:
Conversion Rate
- Overall average: ~4%
- Varies by search intent and keyword specificity
- Example: “scrunch leggings” has higher intent than “men’s leggings”
Customer Value
- Initial purchase value
- Potential for repeat purchases
- Lifetime customer value
Campaign Goals
- Brand awareness vs. direct response
- New customer acquisition vs. remarketing
Estimating Conversion Rates by Search Type
Search Type | Example | Conversion Likelihood | Reasoning |
---|---|---|---|
Branded | “Famme leggings” | Highest | High intent, knows the brand |
Specific Product | “Scrunch leggings” | High | Clear purchase intent |
Generic | “Men’s leggings” | Lower | Less specific, more browsing |
Competitor | “Gymshark tights” | Medium | Open to alternatives |
Practical Application
Bid Strategy
- Allocate higher bids to high-intent keywords
- Adjust bids based on device, location, and time of day
Quality Score
- Improve ad relevance and landing page experience
- Higher Quality Score = Lower CPC
Negative Keywords
- Filter out irrelevant searches
- Save budget for more qualified traffic
Pro Tip: Regularly review search term reports to identify new keyword opportunities and negative keywords to add.
How does this relate to AD spend
On Google search and shopping ads, you pay per click, i.e per visitor. Knowing how much you can pay for each click / visitor, is crucial to not wasting money.
Google ads - key takeaways
Google shopping and search ads Search ads dispalys above organic search results in the search tab in Google Google shopping ads shows above search ads when people do product searches How much should you pay? - Max cost per click(CPC) Some questions to keep in mind:
What is the conversion rate of the customer? What is the expected conversion value of the customer? What is the lifetime value of the customer? So you might think: It is impossible to find the exact conversion rate. That is true, but you can still give an estimate that is a good guess. So our conversion rate in general is about 4%. But a person specifically looking for a scrunch leggings and googling it, I would say at least is average in terms of conversion rate, while a person looking for “men’s leggings” is less than average likely to convert.
Compare some searches:
Nike leggings Vs. Famme leggsings -> Famme makes this more likely to convert Leggings with cotton Vs. Leggings with scrunch -> We do not have cotton leggings. Scrunch wins White leggings Vs. Blue leggings -> We do not have white leggings at the moment, Blue wins Seamless leggings Vs. Leggings -> Seamless leggings is something we have A LOT of, while just “Leggings” could be relevant or irrelevant, therefore we should be willing to pay more for the seamless search In general: More specific searches that are “guaranteed” to be relevant, we should pay more for.
Brandjacking Strategy
Understanding Brandjacking
Brandjacking involves targeting searches for competitor brands to attract potential customers who might be interested in your products. While we can’t rank organically for these terms, we can create valuable content that appears when users search for these brands.
Why Target Competitor Brands?
- High Purchase Intent: Users searching for specific brands are often ready to buy
- Lower Competition: Fewer businesses target these specific terms
- Cost-Effective: Can be more affordable than generic terms
- Relevant Audience: These users are already interested in similar products
Implementation Guidelines
Content Organization
- Create a dedicated “Brands” or “Merker” blog category
- Keep brandjacking content separate from other articles
- Ensure clear navigation and internal linking
Tracking and Analysis
- Monitor performance in Google Search Console
- Track queries containing competitor brands (e.g., “gymshark”)
- Analyze click-through rates and conversion metrics
Content Structure for Brand Pages
For each target brand (e.g., Gymshark, Adidas, Icaniwill), create comprehensive content covering:
1. Brand Overview
- Brief history and market position
- Product range and specialties
- Price positioning
2. Product Comparisons
- Compare specific products with your alternatives
- Highlight advantages (price, features, shipping, etc.)
- Include high-quality images and specifications
3. Customer Experience
- Return policies comparison
- Customer service evaluation
- Shipping times and costs
4. Alternative Recommendations
- Suggest similar products from your catalog
- Focus on unique selling points
- Include clear call-to-action buttons
Paid Advertising Strategy
Campaign Structure
- Create separate campaigns for each major competitor
- Group related keywords into tightly themed ad groups
- Use competitor brand names in your ad copy
Bidding Strategy
- Set bids based on estimated conversion rates
- Adjust for brand proximity (closer competitors = higher bids)
- Monitor and optimize for ROI
Landing Page Optimization
- Create dedicated landing pages for each brand
- Address common pain points with competitor products
- Showcase your competitive advantages
Performance Monitoring
Key Metrics to Track
- Click-through rate (CTR)
- Conversion rate
- Cost per acquisition (CPA)
- Return on ad spend (ROAS)
Regular Optimization
- Update content based on performance
- Refresh product comparisons regularly
- Add new competitor products as they’re released
Important: Always maintain ethical standards when creating brandjacking content. Focus on factual comparisons and avoid making false claims about competitors.
Example: Gymshark Flex Leggings Page
## Gymshark Flex Leggings Review & Alternatives
### Overview
Gymshark Flex Leggings are popular for their seamless design and compression fit. However, if you're looking for similar quality at a better price point, consider our [Seamless Collection](#).
### Key Features Comparison
| Feature | Gymshark Flex | Our Alternative |
|---------|---------------|-----------------|
| Price | 499 NOK | 399 NOK |
| Material | 80% Nylon, 20% Elastane | 85% Nylon, 15% Elastane |
| Seams | Seamless | Seamless |
| Waistband | Medium-rise | High-rise with wide band |
| Pockets | No | Side pockets |
| Shipping | 3-5 business days | Free shipping over 499 NOK |
[Shop Now](#) - Save 100 NOK today!
Conversion Rate Considerations
Higher Conversion Potential:
- Searches for similar brands (e.g., Gymshark, Icaniwill)
- Specific product searches (e.g., “scrunch leggings”)
- Price-conscious queries (e.g., “affordable gym leggings”)
Lower Conversion Potential:
- Premium/luxury brand searches (e.g., “Lululemon Align”)
- Brand-loyal searches (e.g., “Nike Pro”)
- Unrelated product categories
By implementing these strategies, you can effectively capture valuable traffic from competitor brand searches while providing genuine value to potential customers.